Thursday 1 Nov 2018, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Sarah Oates violin

Rebecca Chan violin

Richard Waters viola

Gijs Kramers viola

Karen Stephenson cello

Richard Birchall cello

Tim Gibbs bass

Boccherini Cello Quintet in A minor, Op. 25 No.6

Richard Strauss Metamorphosen (for String Septet)

Enjoy a Boccherini Cello Quintet, and the string septet arrangement of Richard Strauss’s Metamorphosen, an elegy to the German culture destroyed by the Second World War.

Written in the closing months of the War, the aching melodies of Metamorphosen mourn a Europe broken by conflict. Strauss’s music pays homage to the German musical culture that came before him, as short fragments inspired by Mozart, Bach and Beethoven, including the Funeral March from the Eroica Symphony, weave and expand across the ensemble. Tonight, hear an intimate setting of this masterpiece, as the Philharmonia Chamber Players perform Strauss’s original arrangement for string septet.

In contrast, enjoy a rarely-performed masterpiece written almost 200 years earlier. Italian composer Luigi Boccherini built on the legacy of Haydn but expanded the musical role of the cello to striking effect – his A minor quintet uses two, incorporating powerful dark melodies and guitar-inspired percussive sonorities.



  • Tickets: This concert is FREE and unticketed - just walk in
  • Running time: 50 minutes, no interval
  • Concert programme: Free programmes are available upon entry
  • Drinks: You can take drinks from the bar into this evening's performance
  • After the concert: In the evening programme at 7.30pm, hear the musical drama magnified across the full Orchestra, as Edward Gardner conducts Strauss’s autobiographical Ein Heldenleben and Brahms’s majestic First Piano Concerto.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series