Thursday 22 Nov 2018, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Julia Liang violin

Camilla Marchant flute

Katherine Bryer oboe

Erika Curbelo trumpet

Michela Zanoni harp

Irena Radic piano

Erik Sköld Scherzo for Oboe, Trumpet and Piano

Valeri Kikta Sonata for Violin and Harp - i. Metamorphoses

Barber Canzone Op.38a (flute and piano)

Luboš Sluka Primavera for Oboe and Harp - ii. Allegro

Rachmaninov Vocalise (trumpet and piano)

Shostakovich 5 Pieces for 2 Violins and Piano (flute, violin and piano) - iii.Elegy

Shostakovich Five Pieces for 2 Violins and Piano (flute, violin and piano) - v. Polka

Enjoy a free, early-evening recital showcasing some of the talented recipients of our MMSF Instrumental Fellowship programme.

Running since 1968, the Martin Musical Scholarship Fund has enabled countless exceptional young musicians bridge the difficult gap between full-time study and professional status - alumni include Alison Balsom, Steven Isserlis and Tasmin Little. Re-designed into the MMSF Instrumental Fellowship Programme, the current generation of emerging artists receive training from Philharmonia musicians and management, and enjoy a number of chamber and orchestral performance opportunities across their time on the programme. 

In this performance, specially programmed by the Fellows to complement the full Orchestra's evening programme at 7.30pm, hear some of this year's recipients perform a selection of intimate chamber works - more details to be announced soon.

To find out more about the Philharmonia MMSF Instrumental Fellowship Programme, including information on how to donate and support future orchestral talent, click here.



  • Tickets: This concert is FREE and unticketed - just walk in
  • Running time: 45 minutes, no interval
  • Concert programme: Free programmes are available upon entry
  • Drinks: You can take drinks from the bar into this evening's performance
  • After the concert: In the evening programme at 7.30pm, hear the Philharmonia's Principal Guest Conductor, Jakub Hrůša, lead the full Orchestra in a performance of Dvořák and Shostakovich.